Rage Against the Machine, Radiohead among nominees for 2018 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame induction class

Courtesy Rock and Roll Hall of FameRage Against the Machine and Radiohead are both nominated for the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in their first year of eligibility.

The nominees for the Rock Hall’s 2018 class have been revealed, a list also including first-timers Judas Priest, Dire Straits, The Moody Blues, Nina Simone, Sister Rosetta Tharpe, Kate Bush, and Eurythmics. Also included are Depeche Mode, MC5, Bon Jovi, The Cars, J. Geils Band, LL Cool J, The Meters, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Link Wray, and The Zombies.

“It’s a remarkably diverse group of artists, and it’s reflective of the diversity of rock n’ roll,” Rock Hall CEO Greg Harris tells ABC Radio. “We have a number of different eras, we have a number of different styles of music, and just a great balance. And any five out of this would make for a wonderful induction class.”

Speaking about Rage’s inclusion, Harris commended the band for using their music as a “megaphone to voice for change.” He also mentioned Radiohead’s “impact and influence on a global scale” as a reason for their nomination.

Starting October 5 and continuing through 11:59 p.m. ET December 5, you can vote for your favorites at RockHall.com. The top five artists chosen by the public will make up a “fans’ ballot” that will be included with the other ballots. The final inductees will be announced in December, determined by a voting body of more than 900 artists, music historians and music industry insiders.  

The 2018 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held April 14 in Cleveland, Ohio, and will air on HBO.

Here’s the full list of nominees:

Bon Jovi
Kate Bush
The Cars
Depeche Mode
Dire Straits
J. Geils Band
Judas Priest
LL Cool J
The Meters
Moody Blues
Rage Against the Machine
Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
Nina Simone
Sister Rosetta Tharpe
Link Wray
The Zombies

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.